Lynceus project wins Innovation Award at the Lloyd's List Global Awards

The Lynceus project, of which LR is one of several industry partners, has won the prestigious Innovation Award at the Lloyd's List Global Awards 2014.

This coveted prize recognises new ideas, ship designs, equipment and services that offer distinct business improvements.  More than five hundred of the maritime industry’s most senior executives  gathered in London to celebrate the industry’s success stories at the annual awards ceremony.

Lloyd's List Innovation award

Lynceus is an EU funded project aimed at revolutionising ship emergency management and evacuation. The system at the centre of the project uses a combination of ultra-low power wireless body-area-network technology and lifejacket-mounted reflectors tracked by an Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV). This technology enables the swift location and rescue of people in danger, either on board or in the sea. 

Jesus Mediavilla Varas (pictured far right), Lead Specialist in LR’s Strategic Research & Technology Policy Group attended the award ceremony in London last night and commented: "Winning the Innovation Award is really great news for Project Lynceus and for Lloyd’s Register. It shows LR’s commitment to continuously improving the safety of passengers at sea, strengthening our brand as an innovative company."

Project Lynceus has also caught the attention of CNN who are planning a documentary about the project, due to air in November. 

Jesus continued: "We have recently submitted a proposal for the next phase of Lynceus, which aims to further develop the system, commercialise it and apply it to large cruises ships and even ferry’s. We are hoping that all this positive publicity will support us in securing the EU funding needed to continue this important work."

Pictured: (L-R) Paul Nichols, Lead Specialist, Passenger Ship Support Centre, Tom Boardley, LR's Marine Director and Jesus Mediavilla Varas, Lead Specialist, Strategic Research & Technology Policy Group, proudly displaying the Innovation Award.