Tank Containers

Because tank containers often carry dangerous gases and liquids, several codes and regulations apply to their design and use worldwide. Lloyd's Register's commitment to making the world safer has given us many years of experience in the inspection and certification of tank containers.

We can inspect and certify many types of tank containers including:

  • Road tanks
  • Swaps and swap tanks
  • Offshore tanks
  • Modified and refurbished tank containers

Services we offer for tank containers:

  • Design reviews
  • Inspection
  • Owner acceptance
  • Certification
  • Registration
  • Technical advice

Added-value services include:

  • Document management
  • Inspector training (CSC)
  • Web-based certification access


When we inspect and certify containers, we use the Lloyd’s Register Container Certification Scheme (LRCCS), which provides an easy, cost-effective method that makes sure your containers meet all applicable standards and regulations.

For tank containers, we are authorised to inspect, test and certify to the following:

  • ADR – for transportation by road
  • RID – for transportation by rail
  • IMDG – for transportation by sea
  • EN283/4 – for swap tank container framework
  • USDoT (49 CFR) – for transport by road and rail in the US
  • CSS and ISO 1496 – for tank container framework
  • Pressure vessel design codes (EU Pressure Equipment Directive, ASME)
  • TC Impact Approved – testing for use on Canadian railroads
  • UIC – registration for use on European railways


Lloyd's Register is proud to be a member of ITCO, the international trade association, promoting the interests of the tank container industry. For more information, please visit their website www.itco.be

We are also proud to be members of the Container Owner's Association, an international organisation representing the owners of freight containers. For more information, please visit their website www.containerownersassociation.org