We’ve detected that you are using an outdated browser. This will prevent you from accessing certain features. Update browser

Rail Interoperability Directive 2016/797

Keep rolling with Rail Interoperability Directive (RID) certification.

Lloyd's Register (LR) gives you a one-stop Notified Body service to lead you through the assessment process.


The Rail Interoperability Directive (RID) is an European Directive which covers the provisions relating to, for each subsystem, the interoperability constituents, the interfaces and procedures, and the conditions of overall compatibility of the European Union rail system required in order to achieve its interoperability.

The current Rail Interoperability Directive (RID) 2008/57/EC will be replaced with the RID (EU) 2016/797 in 2019.

The RID requires that all new or modified infrastructure or rolling stock projects comply with relevant Technical Specification(s) for Interoperability (TSI). The railway system is divided into 4 Structural Subsystems:

1. Infrastructure
2. Energy
3. Control, Command and Signaling
4. Rolling stock

Minor specific systems that form a part of Structural Subsystem are named Interoperability Constituents.

The technical requirements to be fulfilled are specified in the TSI. One or more TSI(s) apply to each structural subsystem. The relation between the TSI(s) and the structural subsystems is given in the figure below.

RID technical requirements

The verification of Structural Subsystems or Interoperability Constituents will follow a process / work flow described in a specific Module. The Module to apply is selected by the applicant / manufacturer. All the Modules available for use are specified in each TSI. All the Modules for rail applications are described in detail in the Commission Decision 2010/713/EU.

What we offer

The RID requires that rail projects, new-build, or modifications to rail, be certified by a Notified Body (NoBo), a third-party agency approved by an accreditation body or appointed by a National Safety Agency (NSA).

The NoBo verifies your subsystem complies with the relevant Technical Specification(s) for Interoperability (TSI).

LR currently holds both an accredited NoBo and an appointed NoBo by the NSA in Norway, therefore we are able to certify projects throughout the EU.

Our NoBo has the full technical scope covering all the four structural subsystems and can take on all types of rail projects covering one or several of the structural subsystems and can apply all available Modules in its work.

Why choose LR?

As a NoBo for rail, LR helps companies gain RID certification as required. Combined with our accredited Assessment Body (AsBo) service for CSM-RA (Common Safety Method for Risk Evaluation and Assessment) and Independent Safety Assessor (ISA) service, LR has all the third-party service you may need to comply with the EU legislation.

We have extensive experience of working with the rail industry, giving you peace of mind.

Your business helps LR to help others
The profits we generate fund the Lloyd’s Register Foundation, a charity that supports engineering-related research, education and public engagement around everything we do. All of this helps us stand by the purpose that drives us every single day: working together for a safer world.

Want to know more about this service?


What we think

LR's experts regularly share their research and insights.


Join us at these forthcoming events

6 Jun 22


Posidonia 2022.

Greece, Athens

Looking for a bespoke service or solution?

Hit enter or the arrow to search Hit enter to search

Search icon

Are you looking for?