Changes to MARPOL Annex VI, Regulation 13*, introduce important new NOx emission control area (ECA) Tier III requirements, as follows:

  • Requirements within future NOx ECAs
    Within any future designated NOx ECA, the Tier III requirements will be mandatory for ships constructed (keel laid) on or after the date of adoption of the ECA, or on any date decided by the party or parties proposing the ECA, whichever is later.
  • Requirements for recreational vessels less than 500gt and 24 metres or over
    For vessels less than 500 gt, 24 metres or over, that are specifically designed and used only for recreation, and operating in any NOx ECA, the Tier III requirements will only apply to marine diesel engines installed on those vessels constructed on or after 1 January, 2021.

Requirements within the North American and United States Caribbean ECAs
The compliance date for ships operating in these ECAs remains the same. Engines installed on ships constructed (keel laid) on or after 1 January, 2016, operating in these ECAs, must comply with the Tier III requirements. These ECAs are defined in Resolution MEPC.176 (58).

Note: the Regulation 13 Tier III NOx limits remain the same.

*These changes to Regulation 13 are contained in paragraphs 5.1 and 5.2, and were adopted in Resolution MEPC.251 (66) on 4 April, 2014. They supersede the previous requirements contained in Resolution MEPC.176 (58).  

For further information

Speak to one of our experts at your local Lloyd's Register Group office.

Or contact us via: 
+44 (0)33 041 40459